Laws on Texas Home Schooling

104 3

    The Texas Education Code: Attendance

    • Chapter 25 of the Texas Education Code requires children between 6 years old and 18 years old to attend school, but gives certain exceptions. Home schools are considered "private or parochial schools" under the law. It only requires that the school includes a "study of good citizenship." Students taught at home must also take courses in math, reading, spelling and grammar.

    Texas Education Code: College Admittance

    • Texas law protects home-school graduates who apply to Texas colleges. Chapter 51, Section 9241 of the Texas Education Code specifically requires Texas public colleges to treat home-school graduates the same as public high school graduates.

    Texas Family Code

    • Chapter 151, Section 003 of the Texas Family Code limits the ability of Child Protective Services to infringe on homeschooling rights. It requires social workers to have training so they understand parent's rights to home school. It also prevents the state agency from adopting any rules that interfere with parents' rights to oversee their children's education and upbringing.

    Case Law

    • In 1994, the Texas Supreme Court affirmed a ruling in a lawsuit Texas Education Agency, et al. vs. Leeper, et al. This case sets the precedent for homeschooling in Texas. The ruling said that home schools can operate as private schools. As a result of that decision, home schools are not required to contact school districts, hold home visits or submit curriculum for approval. Parents are not required to have any teaching certification or give students standardized tests.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.